

Prepare 50% Faster

## Indian States Capital with CM & Governors

## (Updated till May 16th, 2023)



## Introduction

India is a federal union comprising of **28 states and 8 union territories**. The states and union territories are further subdivided into districts and smaller administrative divisions.

TAJIKISTAN

- The Governors in India are the constitutional heads and all executive actions of a state are taken in their name, i.e. the governor is de jure head of the state government.
- The governor is appointed by the President of India for a term of five years, and holds office at the President's pleasure.
- However, the governor must act on the advice of the Chief Minister of state.
- The Chief Minister (CM) of a state head the popularly elected council of ministers. He is the **de facto executive authority** at the state level.
- Lieutenant Governor is the head of a union territory (UT) like a

INDIA **States and Union Territories** LADAKH Srinagar INDIA FLAG AMMU & HIMACHAL PRADESH CHINA (TIBET) UNJAB PAKISTAN HANDIGARH Dehradi UTTARAKHAND HARYANA DELHL® New Dethi NEPAL SIKKI UTTAR PRADESH Gangtok BHUTAN Jaipur\_ NAGALAND Dispur ASSAM RAJASTHAN Lucknow BIHAR MEGHALAYA Patna Imphal BANGLADESH MANIPUR Agartala JHARKHAND WEST Bhopal TRIPURA Gandhinagar. BENGAL MIZORAM Ranchi GUJARAT MADHYA PRADESH MYANMAR (BURMA) Damar ODISHA • Bhubaneswar BAY DADRA & NAGAR BENGAL MAHARASHTRA HAVELI AND DAMAN & DIU TELANGANA Hyderabad A RABIAN SEA Panaji GOA ANDHRA PRADESH KARNATAKA Chennai Bengaluru Port Blair PUDUCHERRY TAMIL NADU Karaikal International Boundary State/UT Boundary Country Capital Thiruvananthapura State/UT Capital SRI LANKA Map not to Scale

governor is the head of a state. The union territories are administered by the President through an administrator, who is appointed by him with a suitable designation -- called Lieutenant Governor or Administrator.

- The union territories of Andaman and Nicobar, Delhi, Puducherry, Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh are headed by lieutenant-governors.
- The other three union territories—Chandigarh; Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu; and Lakshadweep—are governed by an administrator.

Since Delhi and Puducherry have a measure of self-government with an elected legislature and council of ministers (headed by a CM), the role of the lieutenant governor there is a mostly ceremonial one, akin to that of a state's governor.



List of Indian States, Capitals, Chief Ministers and Governors					
S.	State	Capital	Governor	Chief Minister	
No.			luctice (Deta) C	V. C. Jagan Mahan	
1	Andhra Pradesh	Visakhapatnam	Justice (Retd.) S. Abdul Nazeer	Y. S. Jagan Mohan Reddy	
2	Arunachal Pradesh	Itanagar	Lt. General (Retd.) Kaiwalya Trivikram Parnaik	Pema Khandu	
3	Assam	Dispur	Gulab Chand Kataria	Himanta Biswa Sarma	
4	Bihar	Patna	Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar	Nitish Kumar	
5	Chhattisgarh	Raipur	Biswa Bhusan Harichandan	Bhupesh Bhagel	
6	Goa	Panaji	PS Sreedharan Pillai	Pramod Sawant	
7	Gujarat	Gandhinagar	Acharya Dev Vrat	Bhupendrabhai Patel	
8	Haryana	Chandigarh	Bandaru Dattatraya	Manohar Lal Khattar	
9	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla (Summer) Dharamsala (Winter)	Shiv Pratap Shukla	Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu	
10	Jharkhand	Ranchi	C.P. Radhakrishnan	Hemant Soren	
11	Karnataka	Bengaluru	Thawarchand Gehlot	D. K. Shivakumar	
12	Kerala	Thiruvananthapuram	Arif Mohammad Khan	Pinarayi Vijayan	
13	Madhya Pradesh	Bhopal	Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel	Shivraj Singh Chouhan	
14	Maharashtra	Mumbai	Ramesh Bais	Eknath Shinde	
15	Manipur	Imphal	Sushri Anusuiya Uikye	N. Biren Singh	
16	Meghalaya	Shillong	Phagu Chauhan	Conrad Kongkal Sangma	
17	Mizoram	Aizawl	Hari Babu Kambhampati	Pu Zoramthanga	
18	Nagaland	Kohima	La. Ganesan	Neiphiu Rio	
19	Odisha	Bhubaneswar	Prof. Ganeshi Lal	Naveen Patnaik	
20	Punjab	Chandigarh	Banwarilal Purohit	Bhagwant Mann	
21	Rajasthan	Jaipur	Kalraj Mishra	Ashok Gehlot	
22	Sikkim	Gangtok	Lakshman Prasad Acharya	Prem Singh Tamang	
23	Tamil Nadu	Chennai	RN Ravi	MK Stalin	
24	Telangana	Hyderabad	Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan	K. Chandrashekhar Rao	
25	Tripura	Agartala	Satyadev Narayan Arya	Manik Saha	
26	Uttar Pradesh	Lucknow	Anandiben Patel	Yogi Adityanath	
27	Uttarakhand	Dehradun (Winter) Gairsain (Summer)	Lt Gen Gurmit Singh (retd.)	Pushkar Singh Dhami	



28	West Bengal	Kolkata	Dr. C.V. Ananda Bose	Mamata Banerjee			
List of Union Territories with Capital and their Governors							
S. No.	UNION TERRITORY	CAPITAL	LIEUTENANT GOVERNORS AND ADMINISTRATORS	CHIEF MINISTER			
1	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	Port Blair	Devendra Kumar Joshi (Lieutenant Governor)				
2	Chandigarh	Chandigarh	Shri Banwarilal Purohit (Administrator)				
3	Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu*	Daman	Praful Patel (Administrator)				
4	Delhi (National Capital Territory of Delhi or NCT)	New Delhi	Vinai Kumar Saxena (Lieutenant Governor) Arvind Kejriwal				
5	Jammu and Kashmir*	Srinagar (Summer) Jammu (Winter)	Manoj Sinha (Lieutenant Governo	r)			
6	Lakshadweep	Kavaratti	Praful Khoda Pate (Administrator)				
7	Puducherry	Puducherry	Tamilisai Soundararaja (Lieutenant Governo (Addl. Charge)				
8	Ladakh*	Leh	Brig. (Dr.) Shri B.D. Mishra (Retd.) (Lieutenant Governo				

## \*Note -

The erstwhile union territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu were merged with effect from 26 January 2020 after the necessary legislation was passed in the Parliament in December 2019

Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization Act, 2019, was passed by both houses of the Parliament in August 2019. The act re-constituted the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir as two union territories, 'Jammu and Kashmir' and 'Ladakh', with effect from 31 October 2019.