

# Railway zones and their headquarters

### **RAIL TRANSPORT:**



- ➤In India Rail network started in 1854 between Kolkata and Raniganj.
- **➢On the basis of width ,The Indian railways routes are divided into 3 parts:**
- 1. Meter guage: distance between tracks is 1 meter.
- 2. Broad guage: diatance between tracks is 1.676meter.
- 3. Narrow guage: distance between tracks is 762mm.



- **► Longest railway route of INDIA is in UTTAR PRADESH.**
- > TOTAL length of rail route in country is 67368 km.
- ➤ Meter guage- 3497km
- **▶Broad guage- 61680km**
- ➤ Narrow guage- 2209km.

 Highest concentration of rail route is seen in GANGETIC PLAIN.



- **➢On 29<sup>th</sup> december 2010 METRO Railway KOLKATA** became the 17<sup>th</sup> railway zone of INDIA.
- >INDIAN coach factory Kapurthala.
- > Electric engine is manufactured in Chittaranajan.
- ➤ Diesel engine are manufactured in Manduadeeh(varanasi).

#### **RAILWAY ZONES IN INDIA:**



- **▶1<sup>ST</sup> TRAIN** in India- Bombay to Thane (16 April 1853)
- ➤1st Electric train in INDIA- Bombay to Kurla(3 Feb 1925)

- **▶**There are total 16 Railway zones in India, for each zone there is A GENERAL MANAGER.
- There are a total of 73 railway divisions in INDIA, for each railway division there is A Divisional railway manager.

#### **RAILWAY ZONES AND HEADQUARTERS:**



- Northern railway- Delhi
- **≻Southern railway- Chennai**
- > Eastern railway Kolkata
- >Western railway Churchgate
- **Central railway** CST MUMBAI



- North central railway- Prayagraj
- >South central railway- secunderrabad
- ➤ East central railway hajipur
- >West central railway Jabalpur

- ➤ North east railway Gorakhpur
- **≻South east railway Kolkata**
- North west railway Jaipur
- >South west railway- Hubbali



- >South east central railway- Bilaspur
- > East coast railway bhubneshwar
- ➤ North frontier railway- maligaon(guwahati)



## THANKS!